Thursday, 29 December 2011

The highest award for science in India - CSIR Declares Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2011

By on 00:01

Eleven Scientist have been selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science & Technology for the year 2011.Dr Samir K Brahamachari, Director General, Council of Scientific Research and Industrial development announced the names of scientists today at the celebration of CSIR foundation Day here today. Till 2010, 463 scientists (including 14 women scientists) have been bestowed with the prestigious SSB Prize.
Biological Sciences
Dr Amit Prakash Sharma
International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi

Dr Rajan Sankaranarayanan
CSIR Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Hyderabad

Chemical Sciences

Dr Balasubramanian Sundaram
Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore
Dr Garikapati Narahari Sastry
CSIR Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad

Earth, Atmosapere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences
Dr Shanker Doraiswamy
CSIR National Institute of Oceanography, Goa

Engineering Sciences
Dr Sirshendu De
Indian Institute of Technology, Dharagpur

Dr Upadrasta Ramamurty
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
Mahtematical Sciences
Dr Mahan Mj
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University, Howrah

Dr Palash Sarkar
Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

Medical Sciences
Dr Kithiganahalli Narayanaswamy Balaji
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Physical Sciences
Dr Shiraz Minwalla
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Some Information: The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology is awarded annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, mathematics, medicine and Physics. The purpose of the prize is to recognize outstanding Indian work (according to the view of CSIR awarding committee) in science and technology. It is the highest award for science in India.[1] The award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.[2] It was first awarded in 1958.

Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible for the Prize. The Prize is awarded on the basis of contributions made through work done primarily in India during the five years preceding the year of the Prize. The Prize comprises a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of Rs. 500,000. In addition recipients also get Rs 15,000 per month up to the age of 65 years.

Recent Comments Widget
« »