Sunday, 1 January 2012

Awards 2011-2012

By on 00:17


 59th National Film Awards 2011: Best Actor award goes to Girish Kulkarni for film
Deool (Marathi) and Best Actress to Vidya Balan for The Dirty Picture (Hindi).

 Dada Saheb Phalke Award: Soumitra Chatterhee (Veteran Bengali actor for his
lifetime contribution to Cinema)

 Chameli Devi Jain Award (Media):Tusha Mittal of Tehelka‟s Kolkatta News
bureau bagged the award as the Outstanding Woman Media person for her reportage
of life in deep interiors of Orrisa and Chattisgarh affected by civil strife and

 Padma Awards:: For the list of all the awardees, Please visit:

 IPI(International Press Institute Award) India Award: For excellence in Journalism for
the year 2010 was presented to Tehelka and The Week jointly in December last year.

 Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award 2011: Prof. Yash Pal. He is a noted scientist and
educator. He received this award for his excellence in Public Administration,
academics and Management.

 Miss India 2011: Vasuki Sunkavalli (26 year old, Hyderabadi Girl)

 Mahatama Gandhi Award For Peace and Reconciliation: Dalai Lama

 Venkataraman Ramakrishnan who won the  Nobel prize for Chemistry, 2009 was
honoured with the British Royal Knighthood.

 Arjuna Awards 2011
Zaheer Khan Cricket
Rahul Banerjee Archery
Preeja Sreedharan Athletics
Jwala Gutta Badminton
Suranjoy Singh Boxing
Sunil Chhetri Football
Rajpal Singh Hockey
Rakesh Kumar Kabaddi
Tejaswini Sawant Shooting
Virdhawal Khade Swimming
Ashish Kumar Gymnastics
Somdev Devvarman Tennis
Ravinder Singh Wrestling
Ravi Kumar Weightlifting
Vikas Gowda Athletics
Sandhya Rani Wushu
Prasanta Karmakar Swimming
Sanjay Kumar Volleyball
Tejaswini Kabaddi

 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2011
Gagan Narang Shooting


 Man Booker Prize: Julian Barnes for his novel „The Sense of an ending‟. The award
promotes the finest in fiction and was first awarded in 1969.

 Miss World 2011: Miss Venezuela Ivian Sarcoss

 PEN/ Pinter International Writer of Courage Award 2011:  Italian
writer, Roberto Saviano, whose work exposed the organised crime of the Neopolitan
mafia will share the award with   Sir David Hare . He was under hiding when the
book was written.

 Ramon Magasaysay Award, 2011: This year there are two Indians who bagged the
award; Nileema Mishra and Harish Hande, who worked for the empowerment of
Indian People. Dr.hande was recognised for bringing solar lights to people who have
no power. Ms. Mishra worked for the poor in Maharashtra by lending them money and addressing their aspirations and adversities. Another Indians who have won the
award include Acharya Vinobha Bhave, Jayaprakash Narayan and Mother Teresa.
The award is named after famous Philipine President and is governed by the
Rockfeller Foundation.

 World Food Prize: The World Food Prize Foundation is honoring John Agyekum
Kufuor former president of Ghana, and Luiz InĂ¡cio Lula da Silva, former president of
Brazil, for creating and implementing government policies that alleviated hunger and
poverty in their countries. The World Food Prize was created in 1987 by Nobel Peace
Prize winner Dr. Norman Borlaug, to recognize individuals who have contributed
landmark achievements in increasing the quality, quantity or availability of food in
the world.

 Guardian First Book Award: Siddhartha Mukherjee (India born  - American
physician) for his extraordinary biography of cancer, The Emperor of All Maladies.
(has already won him a Pulitzer prize in his native US)

 Pulitzer Prizes:

 Pritzker Architecture Prize:  “To honor a living architect whose built work
demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment,
which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built
environment through the art of architecture.” The international prize, is awarded each
year to a living architect for significant achievement, was established by the Pritzker
family of Chicago through their Hyatt Foundation  in 1979. The award consists of
$100,000 (US) and a bronze medallion. The award is conferred on the laureate at a
ceremony held at an architecturally significant site throughout the world. For the year
2012, the prize has been conferred on Wang Shu for recycling materials from
demolished buildings to create a sustainable design for exciting buildings.

 The Golden Bear Awards: Italian documentary Caesar Must
Die (Cesaredevemorire), showing inmates of a high-security prison staging
Shakespeare's “Julius Caesar”, was awarded the Berlin film festival's top award.
Directors Paolo Taviani and Vittorio Taviani received the Golden Bear award.

 Golden Peacock Award: The 42nd
International Filmfare Festival of India was held
at Panaji, Goa. The Columbian movie Porfirio directed by Alejandro Landes won the
Golden Peacock Award.

 Noble prize Winners: Davis Cup of Tennis: Rafael Nadal secured the victory for Spain. It is Spain‟s 5th
time to to reach Davis Cup Finals and Nadal‟s 20th
victory. He defeated Argentina‟s
Juan Martin Del Potro.

 Golden Globe Awards: 69th
Golden Globe awards honouring the best film and
Television for 2011 were held in Beverly Hills( California).
The Best Motion Picture, Drama: The Descendants.
The Best Performance by an Actress: Meryl Streep, The Iran Lady
By an Actor: George Clooney, The Descendants
Best Animated Feature Film: The Adventures of Tintin
Best Foreign Language Film: A Separation (Iran) Jodaeiye Nader azSimin) - Asghar
Farhadi; Sony Pictures Classics.
For more information vistit:

 Grammy Awards: Record of the Year- Rolling In The Deep, Adele
Album of the Year- 21, Adele
Song of the Year- Rolling In The Deep, Adele Adkins & Paul Epworth, songwriters
Best New Artist: Bon Iver
For more information vistit:

 84th Oscars Academy Awards: Actor in the leading role- Jean Dujardin in „The Artist‟
Actress: Meryl Streep in The Iron lady.

Recent Comments Widget
« »